14 Comments

My question is why didn’t the author look into the field workers in his investigations. Seems like this is another production step where the quest for low cost leads to exploitation. Specifically fruit and vegetable workers in California, Texas, Florida. We all love our low price strawberries, but shouldn’t we be willing to pay more so the labor is fairly compensated? Trucking is just one of the elements with cost pressures in the production chain.

Expand full comment

I found the discussion of the trucking industry to be super troubling. As a Canadian I vaguely hope things are better here but I'm pretty sure the same neoliberalism has made its way north so its probably very similar

Expand full comment

After reading a whole section on it, I did it: i caved and mail ordered a six-pack case of Slawsa. It’s pretty good! I put it on these buffalo chicken tacos I’ve been living off of during the past couple of months and it adds a great kick to them, a little but of acid and tang that had been missing. Would recommend.

I loved this bit of the book, I thought it was really well-told and gave an outstanding perspective on how “recipe” becomes “consumer packaged goods” and really felt like it filled in a lot of blanks in my understanding of the food business.

Expand full comment

I knew companies were growing lettuce, etc. in large warehouses. I had no idea there were warehouses that stored fruits or vegetables for months on end. Made me want to rush right out and hunt any genuine farmer's market to buy vegetables and fruit. My next thought was a question: is there any way to know whether the store where you are shopping gets its fruits and vegetables from these warehouses.

I had no idea about all the payments changing hands between supplier and grocer. And how would these ever be exposed? I knew companies paid for space on a shelf but I did not know the extent to which the store can go to charge for this space.

About the Slawsa journey, I felt empathy for the gentleman in Chattanooga whose mother created Slawsa. I'm guessing the man's naïveté or inexperience resulted in his not realizing that he was going to pay the price of losing his product by working with the woman from NC in marketing. She seemed like a likable person, based on author's experience; however, I have to wonder how clear she was with the gentleman that he was incurring the amount of costs for her help that he was. Did she take advantage of him? I'm not surprised that neither of them would discuss this situation.

This is one of the most revealing books I've read in a long time. I had no idea about the trucking situation for today's drivers. And so much more.

Expand full comment

I had the opportunity to work for a software company that catered to the trucking industry and I have since changed my driving habits around. I literally don’t understand how they do it (even if many have a will/spirit as strong as Lynn’s) but I’ll never unlearn what it’s like to try and operate one of those things. All the respect in the world for them!

Expand full comment

I knew trucking was screwed up but reading it all laid out like that was pretty horrifying. And I knew about slotting fees, but the full extent of the importance of those types of fees in the whole supermarket MO was new to me. It reminded me of other businesses that turn to random fees to prop up their budgets.

Expand full comment

Thank God for Farm Town! The whole trucking chapter was amazing!! Also, really liked the Fancy Food Food Show chapter. How could you not fall in love with Julie & Slawsa?! Also, I love those National Days like National Barbecue day & National National Calzone Day. I recently just celebrated National Pears Hélène Day and today is National French Bread Day for those keeping score at home.

Expand full comment

I couldn't believe the abuse in the trucking industry. I've heard about some of the sexual harrasment and abuse female drivers face, but having the whole system laid out bare was horrifying. I've got some family members that are truck drivers, but not working consistently for a company like this. They're more freelance, so I had no clue this culture of recruiting and turnover was so crazy.

Expand full comment

Book is super good.

The retail architecture guy is interesting.

Expand full comment

Like everyone else the trucking section felt kind of like a huge gut punch. And I actually know truckers! But my guy is already at the stage of owning his truck and has for years. I think the CDL licensing from CRST with the rent to own is a slightly more modern (within the past decade) occurrence and so incredibly predatory. If anyone knows someone looking to get a CDL, go with a community college, NC has at least one really good program, in an area with pretty reasonable rent.

Something else about this section and trucking, it doesn't go into two issues surrounding trucking, trains and self-driving trucks. I recommend reading up on these areas if you want to know more about the dynamics and politics (mostly politics).

Expand full comment