12 Comments

I’m into the first chapter already (no spoilers) but I get sense we might get into a bit of a third rail (parallel to the anti-vac storm) but I sure hope not.

Maybe I’m just traumatized from Meritocracy...

Expand full comment

As someone who works in public health, I’m interested in reading this book because it’s approaching health from a whole different perspective than I am used to using. I am used to thinking about populations and haven’t really thought much about what’s happening on a cellular level since I was in school. I did find her almost outrage over the fact that the immune system might have a role in cancer to be a bit much. Given the prevalence of autoimmune diseases, it seems strange that anyone would think of the immune system as always being a force for good.

Expand full comment

I have read Nickel and Dimed and Living with a Wild God and highly enjoyed both, so I'm really looking forward to this.

Expand full comment

I have read nickel and dimed and I think I read the introduction as an article (it sounded familiar). It looks to be a very interesting read.

Expand full comment

I think I’m looking forward to the double edged sword - incredulity over the medical pharma bros turning humans into coal // vs // incredulity over however she described centrifuges in city hospitals contrasting w simple testing for lead exposure.

Incredulous sword fight!

Expand full comment

I HAVE read Nickled and Dimed and Fear of Falling and I look forward to seeing how Ehrenreich investigates and helps readers think about medicine, death and dying.

Expand full comment

I read this book some time back and enjoyed it as a series of reflective essays. I did have a few issues and will be eager to see if others share them as the discussion progresses. She is a skillful writer which is always a plus right from the start. I read this book because I was already a fan.

Expand full comment

Barbara Ehrenreich has my interest because she writes well. This is a wonderfully crafted introduction because she creates the tension that causes one to continue reading. I am intrigued. I don't know where she is going and I want to learn further. The previous book was the opposite.

Expand full comment

She had breast cancer (as she says) about ten years ago, and I remember an essay she did for one of the magazines about how angry she got with the people who were taking care of her, walking into her room every day and asking her how she was doing, with this perky, smiling face, and all she wanted to do was say I am angry at this disease and I don't need you telling me that I should be perky and smiling. I felt then that she had so much guts to actually say that to medical staff, stuff that we would all like to say at some point in an illness. I think she has been thinking about the best way to provide medical care since then. Or what she is going to perceive is "best care" - but we shall see!

Expand full comment

I've read multiple reviews/interviews for this one and it's always been on my radar. So far the intro has not disappointed!

Expand full comment

Thought Nickel & Dimed was great. Think this book is going to be super interesting. Love this question the author asks in the intro "We would all like to live longer and healthier lives; the question is how much of our lives should be devoted to this project?"

Expand full comment