3 Comments

Something that caused me to question what I had assumed color was--the use of light to reproduce the colors of a Rothko piece that had deteriorated. The color could to be produced as an object/liquid/etc. Light (and light at certain times in certain ways) could "make" or create the original color. This book leaves me with a lot of science to integrate into my thinking. I would never now argue with anyone about a color. And while it's not the most comfortable way to be left after reading a book, this book leaves me wondering, thinking, and realizing how complex this whole subject is. I am very glad I read the book.

Expand full comment

I laughed out loud when I saw there was a full chapter on the infamous blue dress. I thought it was crazy that there is actual a difference in the brain scans for people who see the white/gold colors though. I related most to that chapter since I actually witnessed that phenomena so I think it was my favorite chapter.

Expand full comment

The greatest color printer on Earth! It's the blackest material in the universe after black holes! Black 3.0! The world's pinkest pink! It's taking raw materials and turning them into something that you can make something beautiful with! Loved the whole color wars and all. Plus, it was fun to revisit The Dress (no question it's blue) and I really enjoyed the section on Pixar Films. Anyways file this under another wonderful Numlock Book Club find. Not available to Anish Kapoor!!

Expand full comment