7 Comments
Apr 18, 2021Liked by Book Club by Numlock

Tikkun Olam! Errol Schweizer (from Stock Boy to head of Whole Foods national grocery program) is another person I could read much more about. In all I thought the book was Slawsome, but I do think the author should have saved the fishers in Thailand for an article or even it's own book. The plight of field workers would have fit this book much better I believe.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2021Liked by Book Club by Numlock

Final verdict: I'm sad. And much more informed. Just this weekend I found myself telling my husband about the trucking chapter and how I would never look at a driver of an 18-wheeler the same again. And I told him about the plight of the woman driver Ben took the truck trip with. I think my best efforts can go toward the bigger picture of worker rights, good laws to be passed, etc than to my personal selections in the grocery store. I also no longer trust "organic" or any other description of a product that is supposed to make me think the item is pure or whatever the claim might be.

Expand full comment

Found this book fascinating — but it sure got dark. I’ll be interested to see what they do with it for the proposed TV series.

Expand full comment

I thought this book was interesting. Thanks to the book club for suggesting it. I'd be interested to hear what the author thinks about Instacart and the rise of other shop-for-you services.

Expand full comment

Each chapter of this book was endlessly fascinating in completely different ways. Looking back, it's hard to believe that so many unique stories made it into one book on one topic. It definitely makes me think differently about my trips to the grocery store. And I couldn't help going out of my way to stop at Trader Joe's last weekend after finishing this book.

Expand full comment