4 Comments

I really loved this one!

I thought it brought a lot of clarity to a set of really difficult subjects. I was specifically really interested in the uncertainty about what’s next in physics, it got at one of the most interesting articles I’d read a while back about what precisely should be done next

http://backreaction.blogspot.com/2018/12/how-lhc-may-spell-end-of-particle.html

Expand full comment

I loved the book. Even though I'm incredibly uneducated in astrophysics, the author does an incredible job of breaking down complex ideas into something very digestible. Their personality also shown through on every page (and footnote). I was a bit nervous starting the book that I'd be bored, but the book definitely delivered.

Everything with the LHC was probably my favorite part since I've seen all the "theories" about it opening black holes and creating new dimensions. I just think it's endlessly fascinating.

Expand full comment

Break Glass In Case Of Existential Emergency! Like everything in science, our understanding of the Cosmos is a perpetual work in progress!! As interesting as I found this book (the author did a wonderful job in breaking down all this complex information for people such as myself with a very basic knowledge in Astrophysics) , I am equally as interested in What's Next?!

Expand full comment

The "what's next" piece is also what I found myself spending the most time thinking about. I was struck by how strong some of the interviewers were in their convictions, regardless what they were speaking about. I often think of scientists as bastions of objectivity and rationality, but in reality they are just as human as the rest of us. They have egos, they obsess over their reputations in the public eye and that can make them say/do very irrational things (potentially pushing forward with another collider even in the face of evidence that says its a fruitless endeavor). I think it's key to have the same healthy skepticism towards them as we have towards the average politician/business leader. (That being said, I am not the LEAST bit skeptical of our author - absolutely brilliant writing!)

Expand full comment