7 Comments
Aug 23, 2021Liked by Book Club by Numlock

Every happy universe is the same; every unhappy universe is unhappy in it's own way! Quantum Bubble of Death!! You're not thinking fourth-dimensionally!!! I knew a little bit about the beginning of the universe and haven't really even thought about the end of the universe. For the most part this book will be a journey into the unknown for me. I'm amazed that I had never heard of Penzias and one of the most important discoveries in the history of psychics the Cosmic Microwave Background. My favorite section was on Time Travel. Btw the 2000s Battle Star Galactica is close to being a masterpiece and is certainly better than the original, but what the frak! Classic Battle Star Galactica will always be the one with Richard Hatch & Dirk Benedict. The 148 minute Pilot featuring the special effects of John Dykstra is beyond epic!!

Expand full comment
Sep 2, 2021Liked by Book Club by Numlock

Seems to be a common sentiment so far, but I can't believe how easy to read this turned out to be. The author does a great job of making the subject really approachable and their personality shines through in some really entertaining ways. I've had to read some of the lines out loud to my husband because I was cracking up.

Expand full comment

The beginning of the universe always felt like the topic in science classes that was fascinating but brought up regularly every few years to the point where it was, well, background noise! You get used to hearing about an explosion of everything, everywhere, all at once. This book is doing a wonderful job of reminding me how cool it is (there’s a wall of fire at the edge of my observable universe!) and how the questions are worth asking.

I didn’t know much about the end of it all, besides the phrase “heat death of the universe” entering my everyday speech, so I’m excited to learn more! Also, it’s nice to know that if I have some kind of equipment or mechanical failure, I may just stumble across a Nobel prize…

Expand full comment

I knew the Barenaked Ladies song and that was pretty much it - this has been revelation after revelation (just as I'd hoped")

The whole concept of measuring the universe's 'age' by light/distance has been my favorite to think about so far.

Expand full comment
deletedAug 24, 2021Liked by Book Club by Numlock
Comment deleted
Expand full comment